Thursday, March 25, 2021
  • Updated

I enjoy stories about Jewish celebrities in the Jewish Light. However, in a recent issue, the author of a “Jewish Guide to the 2021 Golden Globes” irritated me when he wrote about the film “Mank,” “(which) is about a ‘real’ Jew. … There are eight important, real-life Jewish characters in the…

Thursday, January 28, 2021
  • Updated

The best definition of education I ever heard was provided by a University of Missouri-St. Louis colleague: “getting students to learn to cope with ambiguity.”

Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020

There is the old saw that “where there are two Jews, you will find three opinions.” A case in point is the ongoing debate over whether it is the Republican Party or the Democratic Party that better represents Jews today and, more particularly, which is more likely to fight against anti-Semitism. 

Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Friday, November 29, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
  • Updated

It has been commonly observed that polarization in America has increased greatly in recent years. It is hard to disagree, given the rancorous political discourse we witness on a daily basis between the two major political parties, not to mention among many friends and neighbors.

Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
  • Updated

Last month, President Donald Trump delivered his State of the Union address to Congress. It was relatively well-received by the general public, with 60 percent of viewers reporting a “very positive” reaction, which was higher favorability than most Obama-era State of the Union speeches gener…

Thursday, February 21, 2019
  • Updated

I am one of 77 million baby boomers in the United States – among the very first, having been born just a couple of months after World War II ended. According to AARP, 10,000 baby boomers are turning 65 every day. Sixty-five percent plan to work past age 65, as I have. That is, up to now.