You have permission to edit this article.
Edit

Best of Simchas Readers Poll

  • Updated
Best of Simchas

We asked readers to cast their vote for St. Louis’ top businesses that help to make bar and bat mitzvahs, weddings and other celebrations occasions to remember for a lifetime. More than 700 people voted in the poll and on the following pages, find the results. We have listed the first-, second- and third-place winners in each category.

Best indoor wedding venue

1st place: The Ritz-Carlton, www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/st-louis, 314-863-6300

2nd place: The Chase Park Plaza Hotel, www.sonesta.com/ChaseParkPlaza/StLouis, 314-633-3000

3rd place: The Caramel Room, www.caramelroom.com, 314-615-2480

Best hotel to book a block of rooms

1st place: The Ritz-Carlton, www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/st-louis, 314-863-6300

2nd place: Four Seasons Hotel, www.fourseasons.com/stlouis, 314-881-5800

3rd place: The Chase Park Plaza Hotel, www.sonesta.com/ChaseParkPlaza/StLouis, 314-633-3000

Best children’s birthday venue (ages 5-12)

1st place: City Museum, www.citymuseum.org, 314-231-2489

2nd place: Sky Zone Trampoline Park, www.skyzone.com/chesterfield, 636-364-4444

3rd place: Sports Fusion, www.chesterfieldsportsfusion.com, 636-536-6720

Outdoor wedding venue

1st place: Missouri Botanical Garden, www.missouribotanicalgarden.com, 314-577-5100

2nd place: Outside at Four Seasons, www.fourseasons.com/stlouis, 314-881-5800

3rd place: World’s Fair Pavilion, https://bit.ly/36b6lz0, 314-289-5344

Best venue for a wedding/bridal/baby shower

1st place: Saint Louis Art Museum, www.slam.org, 314-721-0072

2nd place: Westwood Country Club (tie), www.westwood-cc.com, 314-432-2311

2nd place: Mariposa (formerly Zodiac Room) at Neiman Marcus (tie), http://bit.ly/mariposa-stl, 314-994-5050

Best place for a bar/bat mitzvah party

1st place: City Museum, www.citymuseum.org, 314-231-2489

2nd place: Wild Carrot, www.wildcarrotstl.com, 314-696-247

3rd place: Palladium Saint Louis, www.palladium-stl.com, 314-881-4301

Best place to buy a wedding cake

1st place: The Cakery, www.thecakerybakery.net, 314-647-6000

2nd place: Sugaree Baking Co., www.sugareebaking.com, 314-645-5496

3rd place: Hank’s Cheesecakes, www.hankscheesecakes.com, 314-781-0300

Best place for non-cake desserts for a simcha 

1st place: Sarah’s Cake Shop, www.sarahscakeshopstl.com, 636-728-1140

2nd place: The Little Dipper, Lisa Nixon: 314-581-9574

3rd place: The Cup, www.cravethecup.com, 314-367-6111

Best kosher caterer

1st place: Kohn’s Kosher, www.kohnskosher.com, 314-569-0727

2nd place: Jon Rubin Catering, 314-607-8440

3rd place: Circle@Crown Café, www.crowncenterstl.org/cafe, 314-991-2055

Best (non-kosher) caterer

1st place: Sugarfire Smokehouse, www.sugarfiresmokehouse.com

2nd place: John Dunn Catering, www.dunnevent.com, 314-239-8831

3rd place: Butler’s Pantry, www.butlerspantry.com, 314-664-7680

Best place to order kosher wine

1st place: The Wine & Cheese Place, www.wineandcheeseplace.com

2nd place: The Wine Merchant, Ltd., www.winemerchantltd.com, 314-863-6282

3rd place: Parker’s Table at Oakland and Yale, www.parkerstable.com, 314-645-2050

Best kosher banquet facility

1st place: The Ritz-Carlton, www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/st-louis, 314-863-6300

2nd place: Four Seasons Hotel, www.fourseasons.com/stlouis, 314-881-5800

3rd place: Clayton Plaza Hotel, www.cpclayton.com, 314-726-5400

Best St. Louis location for wedding party photos

1st place: Forest Park, https://bit.ly/2s7UnaD, 314-367-7275 

2nd place: Lafayette Square/Park, www.lafayettepark.org, 314-772-5724

3rd place: The Gateway Arch, www.gatewayarch.com, 877-982-1410

Best venue for next-day brunch

1st place: The Shack, www.eatatshack.com

2nd place: Bristol Seafood Grill, www.bristolseafoodgrill.com, 314-567-0272

3rd place: Boundary, www.boundary-stl.com, 314-932-7818

Best place for a rehearsal dinner

1st place: Café Napoli, www.cafenapoli.com, 314-863-5731

2nd place: The Piper Palm House, www.towergrovepark.org/piper-palm-house-1, 314-771-4454

3rd place: 612North, www.612North.com, 314-899-0612

Best tuxedo rental

1st place: Men’s Wearhouse, www.menswearhouse.com, 877-986-9669

2nd place: Savvi Formalwear, www.savviformalwear.com

3rd place: Stallone’s Formal Wear, www.stallonesformalwear.com, 800-666-5901

Best bridal shop

1st place:Town & Country Bridal, www.townandcountrybride.com, 314- 863-7200

2nd place:Simply Elegant Bridal, simplyelegantbridalstl.com, 314-241-8201

3rd place: Berrybridge Bridal, www.berrybridgebridal.com, 314-997-1439

Best tailor

1st place: Clayton Tailoring & Alteration, 314-725-2234

2nd place: Irina’s Tailor Shop & Alterations, 636-230-5080

3rd place: Brentwood Alteration and Tailoring, 314-962-2636

Best women’s hair stylist or salon

1st place: Emily Miller Hair & Makeup, www.emily-miller.com, 314-780-8247

2nd place: Ju Ju B’s, shopjujubs.com, 314-469-7096

3rd place: Danielle Style, www.daniellestyle.com, 314-302-1467

Best men’s barber or hair salon for men

1st place: Dominic Michael Salon, www.dmsalon.com, 314-721-4230

2nd place: Preston Salon, www.prestonsalon.com, 314-727-0007

3rd place: Platinum Hair Salon, www.stlplatinum.com, 314-576-3727

Best nail salon

1st place: Clayton Nail Spa, www.claytonnailspa.com, 314-669-5340

2nd place: Lucy Lee, www.lucyleespaclayton.com, 314-727-6245

3rd place: A V Nails, 314-991-9979

Best wedding or simcha planner

1st place: Simcha Lourie, www.simchasevents.com, 314- 458-5463

2nd place: Linda Horwitz, 314-484-9930, partyplanlin@aol.com

3rd place: The Party Broker, 314-941-0522

Best photographer

1st place: Spoonful of Sugar Photography, www.spoonfulofsugarphotography.com, 636-346-5164

2nd place: L Photographie, www.lphotographie.com, 314-449-8124

3rd place: Kristi Foster Photography, www.kristifosterphotography.com, 314-330-2407

Best photo booth company 

1st place: Fish Eye Fun, www.fisheyefun.com, 314-621-8638

2nd place: 2 Chics & a Photobooth, www.2chicsphotobooth.com, 636- 439-4339

3rd place: Flipping Good Times, Part of Holy Daisy Designs, www.holydaisy.com, 636-584-5089

Best videographer

1st place: Spoonful of Sugar Photography, www.spoonfulofsugarphotography.com, 636-346-5164

2nd place: Sweet Tea Media, www.addsomesweet.com, 314-266-8321

3rd place: Adler Video, www.adlervideo.com

Best limo/wedding party transportation service

1st place: JED Limousine, www.jedlimousine.com, 314-429-2200

2nd place: BEST Transportation, www.besttransportation.com, 314-989-1500

3rd place: The Loop Trolley, www.looptrolley.com, 314-725-2115

Best DJ or entertainer

1st place: Utopia Entertainment, www.utopiaentertain.com, 636-532-2777

2nd place: Millennium Productions, www.millenniumproductions.com, 314-918-9335

3rd place: Rockstar DJs, www.rockstardjs.com, 314-518-2407

Best florist

1st place: Belli Fiori, www.bellifioristl.com, 314-776-2200

2nd place: The Special Event Florist, www.thespecialeventflorist.com, 314-845-3362

3rd place: Poppies Design Studio, www.poppiesdesignstudio.com, 314-952-1591

Best place for centerpieces (not flowers)

1st place: Hi Ho Helio, www.hihohelio.com, 314-872-7711

2nd place: Décorum, decorumeventsstl.business.site, 314 447-4000

3rd place: Center of Attention, email: 4lentins@gmail.com, 314-956-1097

Best place for invitations/stationery

1st place: Haley Design, www.mhaleydesign.com, 636-352-2102 

2nd place: Cheree Berry Paper, www.chereeberrypaper.com, 314-533-6688

3rd place: Stationery Designs, www.sdesignstl.com, 314-583-9138

Best jeweler

1st place: Genovese Jewelers, www.genovesejewelers.com, 314-878-6203

2nd place: Simons Jewelers, www.simonsjewelers.com, 314-725-8888

3rd place: Albarré Jewelry, www.albarre.com, 314-997-1707

Best local band for a simcha event

1st place: Griffin and the Gargoyles, www.griffinandthegargoyles.com, 314-721-9090 x217

2nd place: Charles Glenn Group, www.charlesglenngroup.com, 314-721-9090, ext. 217

3rd place: FatPocket, www.fatpocketband.com, 314-721-9090 ext. 219

Best place to buy a unique wedding gift

1st place: Third Degree Glass Factory, www.thirddegreeglassfactory.com, 314-367-4527

2nd place: Craft Alliance, www.craftalliance.org, 314-725-1177

3rd place: Union Studio, www.stlunionstudio.com, 314-771-5398

Best place to buy party favors

1st place: Party City, https://stores.partycity.com

2nd place: The Swag Team, jsettler@gmail.com, 314-973-7420 or betsykerner@hotmail.com, 314-517-8966

3rd place: BowlingShirt.comwww.bowlingshirt.com, 1-800-444-1685

Best wedding registry location

1st place: Crate & Barrel, www.crateandbarrel.com, 314-429-2200 

2nd place: Bed Bath & Beyond, www.bedbathandbeyond.com

3rd place: Pottery Barn, www.potterybarn.com, 314-996-2630